“Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.” – Helen Keller

I’m so blummin’ lucky. When I had the idea to write Peter Digs A Den there was just me, sat on the front room floor with a scrap of paper and a few rhymes. I have to be honest that it didn’t take long to write the story at all because the story was already there waiting to be told, but editing, checking, rewriting, checking again, getting feedback, rewriting, thinking about giving up then cracking on with determination, those things took time. But like Helen Keller says in that quote “Alone we can do so little” I needed people to make this dream a reality.

I’m lucky that I have very talented friends and family, even luckier that they support me in what I want to do. Over the next couple of weeks I’m going to introduce you properly to the people who are making Peter Digs A Den a project with wings not just a poem in a notebook.

The first person I’d like to introduce is my father Peter Stretch who very kindly read and recorded the book for our Audiobook version. Not only has he done that, he gave editing advice, continual emotional support and encouragement and not just by telling me to ‘get on with it’ but by leading by example. Pete has always done what he likes, in the best way. If he has an idea worth doing, he’ll give it a go. He’s shown me to not fear exposure, to be brave in the face of criticism and that ‘you only live once’.

Here’s his answers to the daft little questionnaire I sent out to the people I’m working with.

Name:  

Pete Stretch

 

Age:

68

 

Where you grew up:

Furness Peninsula

 

Where you live now: 

Whangamata Coromandel New Zealand

 

Describe your childhood in three words:

Bewildering, blazing, brilliant

 

Did you have a den growing up (or a secret place)? 

Yes, but I’m not telling you where.

 

What do you do for a living? 

Photography, Music, Writing, Tour Group Leader

 

How do you think your childhood experiences affected your choice of career? 

Not at all, until I moved to New Zealand, where I reinvented myself as a boy of 7.

 

What lessons from childhood do you remember the most?

How to fill an inkwell, and weigh rosehips.

 

If you could give a child advice what would it be?

Stay a child until you are least 92.

 

Pete forgot to mention he also does stand up comedy didn’t you Dad? 

In a couple of months time you might see Pete bodding about the British countryside (and indeed the towns) with a lucky load of Kiwis on tour.

For more information please visit www.thebritsjob.com

Photograph by Linda Storer (who is not only an amazing photographer but an amazing woman)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

